* Login   * Register


Last visit was:
It is currently September 17th, 2019, 6:18 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
skate342
 Post subject: Batching [solved]
PostPosted: September 26th, 2005, 11:28 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: March 10th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Posts: 11195
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Say I have a folder of images I want to apply an action in PS to all at once. How do I batch the images and carry out with the action.

That is all.


Last edited by skate342 on September 27th, 2005, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Jaggi
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 27th, 2005, 5:45 am 
Offline
Abstract Guru
Abstract Guru

Joined: July 22nd, 2004, 5:40 am
Posts: 1453
on the file menu under automate you can choose the batch menu where u can carry out batch modes, however its easier to open up bridge or browser and choose the batch mode from within there (tools > photoshop > batch). You can also back in ps on the file menu choose scripts, i believe u can add scripts too so guess theres a site out there with loads of scripts... adobe homepage might be best. Kinda depends on what you wanna do.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
emo_boy
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 27th, 2005, 7:02 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: March 7th, 2003, 4:05 pm
Posts: 18630
See the tutorial I made about actions. So make an action. Then follow Jaggi's instructions on how to get the batch options up, there will be an option to include an action with a batch.

(So you'll probably have to seperate from Vert and Horiz, that's what I do. Run two batches.)

http://abstractinfluence.com/forums/vie ... php?t=2000

_________________
Image
Abstract Influence | Way Too Indie


Top
 Profile  
 
skate342
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 27th, 2005, 10:15 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator

Joined: March 10th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Posts: 11195
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Thanks guys, I've got it working.


Top
 Profile  
 
MentaR
 Post subject:
PostPosted: October 26th, 2005, 6:32 am 
Offline
Abstract Guru
Abstract Guru
User avatar

Joined: October 12th, 2004, 6:43 am
Posts: 918
Location: Netherlands
hm, i'm having a problem with batching. I have a very big folder of files i want to batch. This is my problem: i want to resize all files wider then 700px back to 700pixels. All files smaller than 700 have to stay the way they are...it has to be done with a batch, cause there are aprox 700 files now, but in the future 30.000....
it has to be done with scipts or something? or maybe anyone has a seperate tool for this? I have to give a condition to the batch: only resize files wider then 700px...


Top
 Profile  
 
emo_boy
 Post subject:
PostPosted: October 26th, 2005, 7:08 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: March 7th, 2003, 4:05 pm
Posts: 18630
Hmm, well you could write a small action to resize the photos to 700 px. However, I don't believe it is easy to write decision logic, that would allow the files to stay the same size if under 700 px.


What I would do is just write an action to resize them all to 700 px and go back and see if the others are badly affected. Or, just take the ones that are below 700 px in a different folder.

_________________
Image
Abstract Influence | Way Too Indie


Top
 Profile  
 
MentaR
 Post subject:
PostPosted: October 26th, 2005, 7:12 am 
Offline
Abstract Guru
Abstract Guru
User avatar

Joined: October 12th, 2004, 6:43 am
Posts: 918
Location: Netherlands
well, I am doing that allready. But the problem is, in the future we will have folders with over 30.000 images, and it's very annoying to sort them out manually. There has to be a little tool or maybe a scripted pluging for photoshop that can condition it out. But I can't find it... :(


Top
 Profile  
 
emo_boy
 Post subject:
PostPosted: October 26th, 2005, 7:15 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: March 7th, 2003, 4:05 pm
Posts: 18630
Yes, you can also write a script in photoshop, but I've never done it. You may want to google should something like photoshop script.

_________________
Image
Abstract Influence | Way Too Indie


Top
 Profile  
 
MentaR
 Post subject:
PostPosted: October 26th, 2005, 7:26 am 
Offline
Abstract Guru
Abstract Guru
User avatar

Joined: October 12th, 2004, 6:43 am
Posts: 918
Location: Netherlands
I did that also, but haven't found something that makes sense to me haha, I printed out several solutions (exact solutions to my problem!!) but they simply don't work..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Stock Photos Terms of Use
phpBB3 template by SE-Tuning